68 winners scoop silver Pearson Teaching Awards for 2019

Inspirational teachers from across the country have been honoured today for their outstanding commitment to changing the lives of children.

A total of 68 winners have scooped sliver awards in the annual Pearson National Teaching Awards.

The winners (full list below), announced to coincide with ‘Thank a Teacher Day’ today, will now be shortlisted to win just one of 13 gold awards at the final – known as the UK’s ‘Oscars for Teachers’.

The 21st awards event will be held at the Roundhouse in October.

Author Michael Morpurgo, president of the Teaching Awards Trust, which runs the event, said:

“So often and for so many of us, it is a teacher who changed our lives, was at our side through hard and difficult times, who lifted us up when we were down, helped us find our voice, gave us confidence when we needed it most, set us on a path that we have followed ever since.”

Recognising and celebrating teachers for the lasting impact they have on young people’s lives is crucial

As part of the celebrations this year, members of the public can say a special thank-you to a teacher who has made a difference in their lives by leaving a message on an online form at www.teachingawards.com/card, and the teacher will receive a card in the post for free.

Rod Bristow, president of Pearson UK, said “recognising and celebrating teachers for the lasting impact they have on young people’s lives is crucial”.

“On Thank A Teacher Day, it’s a wonderful chance for them to say thank you to their award-winning teachers.

“We mustn’t forget that these pupils may well be the next generation of teachers, and that’s all thanks to the commitment of those currently in the profession.”

The silver award trophies will be presented to outstanding teachers, teaching assistants, headteachers and lecturers in schools and colleges across England, Wales and Northern Ireland, following thousands of nominations.

Last year, Chris Flathers, of the Gold Star Federation, London, won primary headteacher of the year and Leanne Griffiths, from Morley Academy, Leeds, won secondary head of the year at the awards bash hosted by BBC presenters Anita Rani and Sean Fletcher.


The full list of silver award winners:

The Award for Digital Innovator of the Year

Mr Scott Hayden, Basingstoke College of Technology, Basingstoke, Hampshire

Mr Esam Baboukhan, City of Westminster College, London

Mr Stephen Sadler, East Barnet School, Barnet, Hertfordshire

Mr Matt Murphy, Stone Soup Academy, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire

Mrs Sharon Bruton, The Keys Federation Academy Trust, Wigan, Lancashire


The Award for Excellence in Special Needs Education

Ms Tina Murray, Barham Primary School, Wembley, Middlesex

Mrs Teresa Mason, High Close School, Wokingham, Berkshire

Mrs Morag Colley, Kingsmead Academy, Taunton, Somerset

Miss Marie Duffy, Percy Shurmer Academy, Birmingham, West Midlands

Mrs Lisa Webb, Raynsford Academy, Henlow, Bedfordshire


The Award for FE Lecturer of the Year

Mrs Heather Houston, Belfast Metropolitan College, Belfast, Antrim

Mr Brian Banks, City College Plymouth, Plymouth, Devon

Ms Bina Pawar, City of Westminster College, Paddington, London

Miss Nicola Manning, One Sixth Form College, Ipswich, Suffolk

Mr Duncan Cameron, Strode College, Somerset


The Award for FE Team of the Year

Hospitality and Catering Team, London South East Colleges, Bromley, Kent

Sunderland College’s Music Team, City of Sunderland College, Sunderland, Wearside

Catering team, North Warwickshire and South Leicestershire College, Warwickshire

SERC Science Team, South Eastern Regional College, Lisburn, Antrim

Sport, PE & Dance Team, Wyke Sixth Form College, Hull, East Yorkshire


The Award for Headteacher of the Year in a Primary School

Mr Aaron Meredith, Ernesettle Community School, Plymouth, Devon

Mrs Claire Robinson, Holy Evangelists’ Primary School, Belfast, Antrim

Mr Paul Slater, Trumacar Nursery and Community Primary School, Morecambe, Lancashire


The Award for Headteacher of the Year in a Secondary School

Mrs Lynne Fox, Bramhall High School, Stockport, Cheshire

Mr George Croxford, Royal Wootton Bassett Academy, Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire

Mr Sheldon Logue, St. Damian’s RC Science College, Ashton under Lyne, Lancashire


The Award for Lifetime Achievement

Ms Teresa Roche, Dronfield Henry Fanshawe School, Dronfield, Derbyshire

Mr Keith Berry, Park Community Academy, Blackpool, Lancashire

Mr Frank McCarron, Stockport Academy, Stockport, Cheshire

Mr David Blow, The Ashcombe School, Dorking, Surrey


The Award for Outstanding New Teacher of the Year

Ms Sharmin Rahman, Crowmarsh Gifford Church of England Primary School, Wallingford, Oxfordshire

Ms India Brown, Fulham Cross Girls’ School and Language College, Fulham, London

Mr Connor Goulding, Sacred Heart R.C. Primary School, Westhoughton, Bolton

Ms Natalie Wilsher, The Gryphon School, Sherborne, Dorset

Miss Francesca Buckland, World’s End Junior School, Birmingham, West Midlands


The Award for Primary School of the Year

Kentmere Academy and Nursery, Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Westleigh Methodist Primary School, Leigh, Lancashire

Delph Side Community Primary School, Skelsmersdale, Lancashire

Flakefleet Primary School, Fleetwood, Lancashire

St John’s Primary School, Newcastle, Tyne and Wear


The Award for Secondary School of the Year

Carlton Bolling College, Bradford, West Yorkshire

Clare Mount Specialist Sports College, Wirral, Merseyside

Stockport Academy, Stockport, Cheshire


The Award for Teacher of the Year in a Primary School

Miss Collette Donnelly, Lyndhurst Primary School, Oldham, Lancashire

Mrs Fliss Prior, Bilsthorpe Flying High Academy, Nottingham

Mrs Angela Hilton, Cleves Cross Primary and Nursery School Academy, Ferryhill, County Durham

Ms Rebecca Proctor, Downham Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School, Billericay, Essex

Mrs Lyn Campbell, Edwards Hall Primary School, Leigh-on-Sea, Essex

Miss Charlotte Bartlam, Fairmeadows Foundation Primary School, Swadlincote, Derbyshire

Ms Jade Herbeaut, Roebuck Academy, Stevenage, Hertfordshire

Ms Diane Martin, St Anne’s Church Academy, Weston-super-Mare, Somerset

Ms Siobhan Freeman, William Davis Primary School, London


The Award for Teacher of the Year in a Secondary School

Mr Samuel Jones, Hele’s School, Plymouth, Devon

Mrs Sara Sinaguglia, St Edwards RC/CofE School, Poole, Dorset

Ms Sarah Brownell, Beverley High School, Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire

Miss Leah Kemp, Birtenshaw School, Bolton, Lancashire

Ms Courtney Hosp, Fulham Cross Girls’ School and Language College, Fulham, London

Ms Claudia Windley, Greensward Academy, Hockley, Essex

Mr Dean Ralph, High Close School, Wokingham, Berkshire

Mr Ed Le Brun, Kings College Guildford, Guildford, Surrey

Mr Graeme Erickson, North Liverpool Academy, Liverpool, Merseyside

Ms Nicola Whiston, Ormiston Horizon Academy, Stoke on Trent, Staffordshire

Miss Pippa Wadey, Putney High School, London

Mr Simon Gunstone, Royal Wootton Bassett Academy, Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire


The Award for Teaching Assistant of the Year

Miss Anastasia Nicholls, Abingdon House School, London

Mrs Nina Thomas, Goldsmith Primary Academy, Walsall, West Midlands

Ms Jacqueline McQuade, Regent High School, Camden, London

Mr Paul McCauley, Selly Park Girls School, Birmingham, West Midlands