Thirteen Gold Award winners were announced at the 2019 Pearson National Teaching Awards UK Ceremony on Sunday 20th October. The ceremony, which marked its 21st year of celebrating excellence in education, was held to honour inspirational teachers. The Gold Award winners were chosen out of thousands of nominations.

The ceremony took place at the Roundhouse in Camden, and was hosted by Sean Fletcher, a regular sports presenter on Good Morning Britain and Countryfile presenter, alongside co-host Tina Daheley, well known as a newsreader on the Radio 2 Breakfast Show and a regular presenter on Newsbeat. A host of celebrities also presented awards, including Trevor Nelson, Cressida Cowell, Max Whitlock, Konnie Huq and Charlotte Ritchie.

The ceremony was broadcast on BBC2 as “Britain’s Classroom Heroes”. Get a feeling of the event by watching the broadcast

You can visit our photo gallery from the awards ceremony here.

You can also see a short video of highlights from the ceremony below.


2018 Ceremony

On Sunday 20th October we celebrated 21 years of transformational teaching as the Pearson National Teaching Awards UK Ceremony 2018 took place at The Roundhouse, London. It was an opportunity for us to celebrate all our 2019 Silver Award winners, as well as the wider profession.

The ceremony was broadcast as Britain’s Classroom Heroes on BBC2.

Our hosts for the evening were journalist and presenter of Wild Escapes and Countryfile, Anita Rani and journalist, radio and TV presenter Sean Fletcher, who helped tell the stories of some inspirational teachers as we honoured the whole profession.

Photos from the event

2018 Teaching Awards UK Ceremony


2017 Ceremony

On Sunday 22nd October 2017, 56 Pearson Teaching Awards Silver winners and their guests attended a glittering awards ceremony at The East Wintergarden, London, where the winners of the prestigious Gold Plato Awards were revealed. The ceremony, hosted by BBC Breakfast presenter Naga Munchetty with Countryfile’s Sean Fletcher, was broadcast on BBC TWO as Britain’s Classroom Heroes to honour exceptional teaching professionals from across the UK.

Get a feel for the evening by looking through our pictures of the evening. You can Get a feel for the evening by looking through our pictures of the evening. You can also see read more about the 2017 Gold Plato winners, and see the offical photos of the winners.


Watch the 2016 broadcast of the UK Pearson Teaching Awards ceremony held at the London Guildhall and broadcast on October 30th 2 16. The host was Hugh Dennis.