Watch the moment Dr Jo Turner of Callington Community College in Cornwall was surprised by first British woman in Space Dr Helen Sharman live on BBC's The One Show for winning the award for Teacher of the Year in a Secondary School.

Could it be your school in 2024?

We know the South West is full of incredible educators who make a real difference to the lives of their pupils, and we would love to hear more about them. The Pearson National Teaching Awards 2024 are now open for entry, with 16 team and individual categories covering early years, schools and colleges. It’s free to enter and everyone who is nominated receives a certificate of recognition.

Education communities across the UK are recognised through our annual televised celebrations and prestigious awards ceremony. Enter now and you will be eligible for exclusive early bird offers, including feedback on your entry AND the chance to win 2 tickets to one of the 2024 celebratory events to meet and network with fellow educators.

  • Being nominated has a huge impact, not just on the winner, but on the wider community.
  • Award recognition can elevate your school’s reputation and increase opportunities to share good practice.
  • 16 individual and team categories covering early years, schools, and FE

We are here to help so if you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us or book a call and who knows – we might just be surprising your school or college this time next year!


Alex More

  • The Award for Digital Innovator of the Year (sponsored by Nord Anglia Education)
  • Shaftesbury School
  • Shaftesbury, Dorset

Abi Hopson

  • The Award for Teacher of the Year in a Primary School, (sponsored by Randstad)
  • St Nicholas Church of England Primary School
  • Templecombe, Somerset

Nicholas Capstick OBE

  • The Award for Lifetime Achievement, (sponsored by the Department for Education)
  • Drove Primary School
  • Swindon, Wiltshire

Janice Mitchell

  • The Award for Excellence in Special Needs Education
  • Appleford School
  • Salisbury, Wiltshire

Rachel Bown

  • The Award for FE Lecturer of the Year
  • Fairfield Farm College
  • Westbury, Wiltshire

Chelsea Castell

  • The Award for Teacher of the Year in a Primary School
  • Ernesettle Community School
  • Plymouth, Devon

Jo Turner

  • The Award for Teacher of the Year in a Secondary School
  • Callington Community College
  • Callington, Cornwall

Eggbuckland Vale Primary School

  • The Award for Early Years Team of the Year
  • Eggbuckland Vale Primary School
  • Devon