Meet our past Welsh Winners

David Jones - Pembrokeshire College

Watch the moment our 2023 Welsh Gold Winner David Jones was surprised live on BBC One’s The One Show by Welsh Rugby International Nicky Smith!

Nicola Richards - Caegarw Primary School

Meet our 2022 Gold Winner Nicola Richards. Nicola is an inspirational teacher who places staff and pupil wellbeing at the heart of the whole school curriculum. She firmly believes that a happy school is a learning school. Her sunny and positive approach to school life is infectious, and she is a much-loved member of staff. Her can-do delivery of the curriculum ensures that each child reaches their full potential through memorable, engaging, exciting and rich child-led learning experiences.


Media reach across The Teaching Awards Trust in 2023.


Award winners say their win positively impacted their whole community.


Welsh award winners celebrated

Could it be your community celebrating in 2024?

The entry deadline is Friday 1st March.

Education communities across the UK are recognised through our annual televised celebrations and prestigious awards ceremony.

  • Being nominated has a huge impact, not just on the winner, but on the wider community.
  • Award recognition can elevate your school’s reputation and increase opportunities to share good practice.
  • 16 individual and team categories covering early years, schools, and FE.

We are here to help so if you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us or book a call and who knows – we might just be surprising your school or college this time next year!

Meet some more of our former winners from Wales

Nicola Richards

  • The Award for Teacher of the Year in a Primary School, (sponsored by Randstad)
  • Caegarw Primary School
  • Mountain Ash, Rhondda Cynon Taf

John Weir

  • The Award for Headteacher of the Year in a Secondary School (sponsored by Hays)
  • Holywell High School / Ysgol Treffynnon
  • Holywell / Treffynnon, Flintshire

Ann Webb

  • The Award for Headteacher of the Year in a Secondary School (sponsored by Hays)
  • Ysgol John Bright
  • Llandudno, Conwy

Steven Brown

  • The Award for Headteacher of the Year in a Primary School (sponsored by Hays)
  • Clwyd Community Primary School
  • Swansea / Abertawe, West Glamorgan

Meurig Jones

  • The Award for Headteacher of the Year in a Secondary School (sponsored by Hays)
  • Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Llangynwyd
  • Wales

Charmaine Riley

  • The Award for Teacher of the Year in a Primary School (sponsored by Randstad)
  • Radyr Primary School
  • Cardiff, Wales

Holly Gordon

  • The Award for Outstanding New Teacher of the Year (sponsored by the Department for Education)
  • Ysgol Bryn Derw ASD Special School
  • Wales

The Creative Arts Department

  • The Award for FE Team of the Year
  • Creative Arts Department, Coleg Gwent, Crosskeys Campus
  • Crosskeys, Caerphilly

David Jones

  • The Award for Excellence in Special Needs Education
  • Pembrokeshire College
  • Pembrokeshire, Wales
The Welsh Government is committed to celebrating the commitment, dedication and inspiration of our education workforce through the Professional Teaching Awards Cymru and through working in partnership with the Pearson National Teaching Awards.
We congratulate and celebrate the outstanding education workforce, their work is vital.   Llongyfarchiadau!