Pearson National Teaching Awards

Celebrating transformational teaching

Emma Murtagh

St Oswald’s C of E Primary School

The Award for Headteacher of the Year in a Primary School


Emma started her career at St Oswald’s as a newly qualified teacher and was appointed
Headteacher in 2008. The school is in an area facing many challenges with a higher than average
number of children receiving social care but, as a result of the nurturing environment she creates,
aspirations and achievements are high. Her ethos can be summed up in her motto that underpins
everything she does “the children come first”. Emma also has governance of 2 Children’s Centres; here she continues her commitment to local families and others in the extended community providing outstanding support and care.