We are delighted to announce the 2017 Pearson Teaching Awards Silver Winners in the following categories:

The Award for Outstanding New Teacher of the Year

  • Mr Nathan Keeble, Aberdare Community School, Aberdare
  • Mr Michael Grant, New Rickstones Academy, Witham, Essex
  • Ms Laura McCloskey, Sperrin College, Magherafelt, Co. Londonderry
  • Ms Nicol Winfield, Wyndham Primary Academy, Derby, Derbyshire

The Award for Excellence in Special Needs Education

  • Ms Jeanette Baker, Delves Infant and Nursery School, Walsall, West Midlands
  • Ms Sue Jay, Queen Elizabeth II Silver Jubilee School, Horsham, West Sussex
  • Ms Gemma Dunne, Wood Green Academy, Wednesbury, West Midlands

The Award for FE Lecturer of the Year

  • Mr Raza Siddique, Leeds City College, Leeds, West Yorkshire
  • Mr Shane Guildford, South Cheshire College, Crewe, Cheshire
  • Ms Rianne Hughes, York College, York, North Yorkshire

The Award for FE Team of the Year

  • ESOL TEAM, Leeds City College, Leeds, West Yorkshire
  • Creative Industries Team, Northern Regional College, Co. Antrim, Northern Ireland
  • Catering & Hospitality Department “Rouge Catering”, Redbridge College, Romford, Essex

The Award for Headteacher of the Year in a Secondary School

  • Miss Maire Thompson, Malone College, Belfast
  • Mr Eamon Connolly, St Thomas the Apostle College, London

The Award for Teacher of the Year in a Secondary School

  • Mr Preetmal Poonith, Barnhill Community High School, Hayes, Middlesex
  • Mrs Christine Williams, Childwall Sports & Science Academy, Liverpool, Merseyside
  • Mrs Louise Cramp, Rickmansworth School, Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
  • Mr Mark Deehan, Sacred Heart College, Omagh
  • Mr Daniel Simpson, St Matthew Academy, Blackheath, London
  • Mr Daniel Corrigan, The Radclyffe School, Oldham, Lancashire
  • Mrs Pauline Astle, The Streetly Academy, Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
  • Mrs Edna Reilly, Ursuline Academy Ilford, Ilford, Essex
  • Ms Luisa Martin-Thomas, Tonypandy Community College, Tonypandy, South Wales

The Award for Teaching Assistant of the Year

  • Ms Lorraine Pemberton, Great Bentley Primary School, Colchester, Essex
  • Mrs Sharon Downes, Puddletown First School, Dorchester, Dorset
  • Miss Karen Hefford, Twynham School, Christchurch, Dorset
  • Ms Susan Treacy, Ysgol Dyffryn Taf, Carmarthernhire, Wales

The Award for Headteacher of the Year in a Primary School

  • Ms Lorraine Clarke, Ark Blacklands Primary Academy, Hastings, East Sussex
  • Ms Kelly Armstrong, Field Court Junior Academy, Gloucester, Gloucestershire
  • Mr Rohit Naik, Hope School, Liverpool, Merseyside
  • Mr Darren Morgan, Kings Road Primary School, Stretford, Manchester,
  • Ms Karen Hammond, Ravens Academy, Clacton on Sea, Essex,
  • Mr Mark Thompson, St Helen’s Primary School, Swansea, Wales

The Award for Lifetime Achievement

  • Mrs Lynn Green, Fulwell Infant School Academy, Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
  • Ms Christine Miller, Melling Primary School, Liverpool, Merseyside
  • Mr Mark Thomas, Parish CE Primary School, St Helens, Merseyside
  • Mr Ashley La Grange, Rickmansworth School, Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
  • Mr David Duncan, Rossendale School, Ramsbottom, Lancashire

The Award for Outstanding School Team of the Year

  • The Mathematics Team, Casterton College, Casterton, Rutland
  • The Senior Leadership Team, St Thomas More’s Primary School, Colchester, Essex
  • The Rowans Staff Team, The Rowans AP Academy, Chatham, Kent

The Award for Teacher of the Year in a Primary School

  • Ms Josie Hodges, Brooklands Primary School, Long Eaton, Nottingham
  • Mr Adam Parkhouse, Cantley Primary School, Norwich, Norfolk
  • Ms Lynsey Wangiel, Deighton Primary School, Tredegar, Wales
  • Mrs Faye Facer, Meadow Primary School, Balsham, Cambridgeshire
  • Mr Matthew Hudson, Oaklands Primary School, Welwyn, Hertfordshire
  • Mr Johnny Lee, Red Oak Primary School, Lowestoft, Suffolk
  • Mrs Hayley Townsend, St Paul’s Catholic School Thames Ditton, Thames Ditton, Surrey
  • Ms Ceri Hamer, Trumacar Nursery and Community Primary School, Heysham, Lancaster
  • Ms Michelle Garton, Wyndham Primary Academy, Derby, Derbyshire

The Award for the Outstanding Use of Technology in Education, Supported by Google

  • Mr Charlie Hammond, Coleg Sir Gar, Llanelli, Wales
  • Mrs Melanie Poyda, Kennet School, Thatcham, Berkshire
  • Mr Gareth Price, Pen Y Dre High School, Merthyr Tydfil
  • Ms Jo Payne, Vale School, Worthing, West Sussex
  • Ms Lisa Rees-Renshaw, Ysgol Deri, Vale of Glamorgan, Wales

Highly Commended


The Award for FE Lecturer of the Year

Mr Robert Stewart, City of Bristol College

Sports Department, Leeds City College

Ms Annie Ashton, Macclesfield College


The Award for Teaching Assistant of the Year

Ms Ronnie Menin, Queen Elizabeth’s School

Mr Nick Smithson, Spire Junior School